Let it Begin

12 Aug

Public domain image of first man on the moon

One night when I was in my early 30s and struggling with the fact that I didn’t know what to do with my life, I called my sister the engineer. I tearfully whined to her that, even as a grown man, I had yet to discover what career path to follow.

Don’t get me wrong, I feel I’ve been “succesful” in many aspects of life. Professionally, I’ve been an e-commerce business analyst, a call center analyst, an e-commerce digital imaging technician, a marketing coordinator… Artistically, I’ve been an actor, a dancer, a writer, a choreographer, a film director, a web designer…

When I poured my soul to my sister over the phone, I was almost done with my graduate program, but I was really nervous because I still hadn’t found exactly what I wanted to do. “What the heck was I born to do in life?” I asked myself a lot in those days… and to a certain extent, I still ask myself that (hence this blog).

My sister, in a voice that was as calm as a fresh pot of hot green tea, explained, “Be thankful you have choices. I see you with all this experience behind you and it provides multiple open doors for you to take in any field! I, on the other hand, am an engineer. And, unless I actually go out and study something else, I’m stuck! I don’t mind it; this is what I like to do, but I’ll be doing this for the next few years or perhaps my whole life.”

I hadn’t thought about it in that way.

So I continue to dream. And I continue to pursue those dreams. And I have many. I tend to want to reach for the stars.

My goals with this blog at the onset are (1) to document the dream chasing, (2) to explore areas of deep interest that satisfy my urge to create, and (3) to discover any connections between or among my favorite activities. All of this together might help me to more completely understand myself as a human being and to help me find/create a logical (lucrative?) career.

My plan is to take one hour each day or night to write about different areas that interest me most: Acting, Dancing, Writing, Film, and Web Design. I’m sure this list will grow as I expand on my bucketlist of dreams!

Leave a Reply

