Online Career Test

27 Aug

Public domain image, royalty free stock photo from www.public-domain-image.com

On January 21, 2003, I took an online career test… a long online career test. It was free; in the end you get a report summarizing your strengths, weaknesses, and recommendations for the types of jobs that would be a good fit. After answering all the questions, I got my report. It had incomplete blanks. There was the catch: to get the report in whole (without blank lines), you had to pay hard-earned money to download a complete report. It was $20 to get the full report; $30 to include the top 10 career choices; right on up to $130 that includes other perks and bonuses.

I didn’t have $20 at the time, and I don’t have $20 now! So every two years, I revisit this report, just to remember what it says, and I always feel like I’m looking in the mirror.

INCOMPLETE FRAGMENTS

Here are a few gems–often surprising–from this “summary narrative.”

Preferences for Luis fully support being perceptually, subconsciously, and consciously aware of fantasy, symbols,

Interesting. In my graduate work, a lot of my writing had an emphasis on symbols in communication.

Luis has a curiosity and awareness about the nature and utility of things. Analysis and experimentation are part of voca

I see a connection with this comment and my love of usability testing at a previous job.

Luis has little need for or is not motivated by recognition, status, or competitive gain. Comfortable and satisfied with

I don’t believe that I have never been a competitive person. It’s not my “thing.” I’d really rather just get it done, whatever the task at hand.

Intellectual and/or analytical work, most likely represent somewhat important types of mental activities.

Yes!

Luis is empathetically and sympathetically aware of the hurts, needs, problems, and wishes of others and is motivated to

I agree. I tend to avoid conflict whenever possible and try to bring harmony to a bad situation. This has made me a caring person who is good at providing service. However, I have been accused of caring too much sometimes.

Luis is highly motivated to consider creative writing and communicating at professional levels.

Whoa.

LIST OF CAREER AREAS

At the end of the report, there is a list of TOP 20 CAREER AREAS. The first 10 are blank because you have to pay to see those. But the last 10 are listed as follows:

11: Translating/Editing: language, format, composition
12: Kindergarten, Elementary Education: teach, nurture
13: Musical, Vocal: singing, choral, solo; public
14: Information Processing: gather, verify, send, file
15: Modeling: artistic display; fashions, apparel
16: Musical, Instrumental: professional potential
17: Title and Contracts: find, examine, confirm
18: Legal and Related: practice of law; judges, lawyers
19: Decorating and Art Work: design, arrange, consult
20: Creative Entertainment: imagination; spontaneous

Almost all of these are paths that I’ve explored or wondered about exploring as a career, except modeling & title and contracts.

So, how much is that complete report again?

Image source: http://www.public-domain-image.com

2 Responses to “Online Career Test”

  1. Dr. Lorraine 2010 August 27 at 9:11 am #

    I know what numbers 1 – 10 are :O)

    • masterdenada 2010 August 27 at 10:53 pm #

      And of course, I left that list on a sticky taped to my computer at work!

Leave a Reply

