Imaginative

25 Feb

Purple Moon source photobuket.com For his birthday, I gave my nephew a book I never read as a child, Harold and the Purple Crayon. Written by Crocket Johnson, the book is about,–and I love how Wikipedia describes it–“a curious four-year-old boy who, with his purple crayon, has the power to create a world of his own simply by drawing it.”

Inside the book, I wrote a simple dedication.

Imagination is one of the greatest gifts we get in this world. Don’t let anyone take it away from you. We know that you are going to be a great mind in this world of mindlessness. Like the character in this book, take your purple crayon and let your imagination take you on a journey across the universe!

Somehow not only was I talking to my dear nephew, but I was also talking to myself. I want to believe that we each have a hand in creating our own world… making our own destinies… crafting our lives the way we want to live them.

Yes, I know that obstacles make their way into life, but you have to be ready to just keep going. ALWAYS MOVING FORWARD! Of course, it’s not as simple as drawing your way out of a corner or erasing a scary monster. You have to work hard and prepare yourself to confront any challenges in your path. It takes a lot of hard work, a great imagination, and a ton of perseverance.

How to help discuss this with my nieces and nephews? I’m such a nerd. I’m always thinking of ways to provide educational toys & books for the next generation in my familia. I guess I was thinking about all this when I saw the cover of Harold and the Purple Crayon in the bookstore.

When I was a child, I had heard about this book, but I also remember depictions of other children with a drawing utencil to create their world of imagination. Via the Nickelodeon network’s educational television program “Pinwheel,” I would watch “Simon and the Land of Chalk Drawings.” Does anyone else remember this one?

Then in the aughts (2000s), Nickelodeon also aired “Chalk Zone,” and yes, I was in my mid- to late-20s when I watched it every once in a while… so what!?

I love cartoons. Isn’t it interesting how this idea of a magical crayon/marker/chalk/writing utencil is a recurring device in at least these three children’s stories?

Image source: http://media.photobucket.com/image/purple%20moon%20royalty%20free%20image/kewlhand_luke/Purple_Moon.jpg

One Response to “Imaginative”

  1. Dr. Lorraine 2011 April 3 at 6:11 pm #

    Luis: You’ve inspired me to take my purple crayon and let my imagination take me on a journey across the universe! Un abrazo, LP

Leave a Reply

