My Life is (Not) a Musical

4 Oct

…yet! Why can’t my life be a musical, right now? Of course, if it could be, I might be the only one who’s out of tune.

No, really. I’ve never taken singing/voice lessons. It’s probably about time I start.

I want to begin auditioning for more musical theater. I honestly don’t want or need a leading role; I just want to take part in a production and be able to contribute my time and energy to the stage.

Of course, I am dancing again, so that’s performing to music. No singing, though. But that’s fine; it might happen eventually. I just have to get in touch with some voice coaches.

I KNOW I can carry a tune. Heck, I was in band for seven years and was even drum major for my high school marching band. So not that these are reason to be cast in a musical; I think I’m just saying these things (or typing them) to convince myself that I CAN do it.

I know I will.

So, while I look for a voice coach, I will continue to dance, start my workouts, and continue my healthy nutritional diets.

And while I am sometimes a drama queen, my life isn’t really a musical; but that doesn’t mean it will never be one.

I just know that one of these days–in the middle of a meeting at work, or at dance rehearsal, or while  out to dinner with friends–I will be so overcome with emotion that I will simply have to burst out into song.

2 Responses to “My Life is (Not) a Musical”

  1. Mimi 2014 January 10 at 2:02 pm #

    Have you seen The Secret Life of Walter Mitty? your last paragraph there reminded me of something Mitty might’ve experienced. :) you should totally do it! Burst out into song. then blog about it!

    • masterdenada 2014 January 10 at 7:41 pm #

      No, but I need to watch that one. I’ve even the trailer, and I feel like him sometimes. Especially when I was younger.

Leave a Reply

