Goals or Resolutions or To Dos for 2014

1 Jan
The guys of Guys and Dolls. Photo credit Siggi Ragnar 2013.

The guys of Guys and Dolls. Photo credit Siggi Ragnar 2013.

On December 22, 2013, we closed Guys and Dolls at The Playhouse. This is the fourth back-to-back show I do in the San Antonio community theaters, after In the Heights, Monty Python’s Spamalot, and The Rocky Horror Show. (My dance partner-in-crime, with whom I have done those four shows, is the incomparable Courtnie Mercer.)

I do not know what it is, however, because I have been feeling down lately. To be brutally honest, I can attribute it to one main reason, but I think it is mostly because I am exhausted. I am extremely proud of my accomplishments and happy to be a part of some highly-regarded, award-winning shows. Theatre is thriving in San Antonio, and to have my name associated with such productions is a great gift that will never grow old.

I have been re-examining my life. Maybe it is my age, or maybe I am just tired, or maybe I just want to make more money. I really do not know.

I am healthier than I have been in all my life. I have lost weight but gained muscle. So I’m at a healthy 162 lbs. I stopped going to the gym recently because of a sinus infection, but I will go back soon.

New goals for 2014? Definitely. I am not sure if “spirituality” is the answer for me. Alex has started studying Buddhism, and he says he feels much more at peace. Is that what I need? I do not know.

That is not the answer for me, but I recently added more items to my ever-evolving bucket list.

  1. Take singing/voice lessons.
  2. Work out more often.
  3. Learn to play the guitar.
  4. Learn to play the piano.
  5. Learn to drive manual transmission automobile.
  6. Be entrepreneurial.
  7. Write more (including this blog!)

So, we’ll see how it goes. I am not exactly sure what all these puzzle pieces mean, but as a great, reliable friend told me recently, “2014 is the ‘Year of Luis!'” I will make it so.

2 Responses to “Goals or Resolutions or To Dos for 2014”

  1. thevirginmindset 2014 January 1 at 10:41 pm #

    I love this. And I love you. You are amazing. <3

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Year of Writing Ardently | Master de Nada - 2014 January 16

    […] got into me towards the end of 2013, so I decided to make “Write more” a resolution for 2014. Interestingly enough, that is the only resolution that has encompassed my attention fully this […]

Leave a Reply

